A Short Introduction To The Philately Of Palestine

The Palestinian National Authority (1994--)

Subsequent to long winding negotiations between Palestinians and Israelis following the Madrid peace conference (November 1991), the so called "Oslo Process" resulted in several declarations, accords and treaties:

  • Oslo Declaration of Principles (13.09.1993)
  • Gaza-Jericho-(or Cairo)-Accord (4.05.1994)
  • Taba-Accord (24.09.1995)
  • Hebron-Accord (15.01.1997)
  • Wye-I-Accord (3.10.1998)
  • Wye-II-Accord (5.09.1999)

On 13.05.1994 the Palestine National Authority (PNA, As-Sulta al-Wataniya al-Filastiniya) established itself on the liberated parts of Palestine (i.e. most of the Gaza-Strip and the town of Jericho). Gradually the Israeli occupation forces vacated 28% of the territories occupied in 1967: Zone A with 3% and Zone B with 25% of the occupied Westbank, as well as all (initially only some 60%) of the Gaza-Strip. More than 72% remain under total Israeli control.

2002gaza (9K)

Zones of Occupation and Settlements in the Gaza Strip, 2002

Occupation 2002 Westbank

Zones of Occupation and Settlements in the Westbank, 2002

In free, fair and secret elections under observation of international organisations the Palestinians voted on 20.01.1996 for a parliament (Legislative Council) and a president:

  • The Legislative Council consists of 88 members: 49 from Fatah, 15 independents aligned with Fatah, 4 members of Islamic groups, and 20 independents (as of 1996).
  • Yassir Arafat (a.k.a. Abu Ammar, born 1929) was elected President with 87% of the votes

Be notified of
page updates
I provide a listing of all changes to my pages. It also provides a free notification service by e-mail:
Log of Changes


Back to the Introduction

Back to the Zobbel Homepage

[Created 25.05.2004, last revised 25.06.2004]
[www.zobbel.de – Dipl.-Bibl.(FH) Tobias Zywietz – all rights reserved]

Imprint/ImpressumDatenschutzerklärung/Privacy Policy